top of page


  • Twitter
  • Instagram

Rachael Burford


Rachael Burford is a World Cup Winning Rugby player having been on the winning team for England in August 2014


Rachael comes from a rugby family background and in April 2016 became the first female professional player on the RPA players’ board before becoming a World Rugby Women’s Advisory Committee member.


She first picked up a ball when she was just six years old and was in the same team as her mother, Renata, and sister, Louise, for a season at Medway RFC, where Rachael spent the first 10 years of her career. A talented sevens player, Rachael took part in the 2009 and 2013 Sevens World Cups. 


Chatham-born, Rachael also played in the 2006 Women’s Rugby World Cup, the 2010 tournament in England, started the 2014 final and became England’s Player of the Year before going on to her fourth World Cup in 2017. Her influence on the game was recognised when she won the International Rugby Players' Association merit award alongside All Black legend Richie McCaw at the end of 2017. 


Rachael received a full-time England XVs contract in January 2019 and was part of the squad that won the Grand Slam in the Women’s Six Nations.



bottom of page